NaNoWriMo Is Almost Here

With the official start of NaNoWriMo merely hours away, I though I might update you all on how my planning is going and what my plan of attack is for the coming month.

In what still kind of remains to be a miracle even for myself, in the past week I’ve managed to smash out the planning of this year’s NaNoWriMo story attempt. In the past week I’ve complied a number of documents  with everything from setting details, to possible scene ideas, to random dialogue and comprehensive character ideas and activities.

Even more surprising however is the fact that for the first time EVER I’ve plotted out my story, a point that I’ve never been able to do, but was conscious of learning at this year’s Romance Writer’s of Australia conference and so far Anne Gracie’s post it not plan is working for me.  I’m actually rather excited and keen for the time to tick over to 12.01 am on November first so that I can finally start writing this story. I feel ready this year … and that’s a new feeling for me, but hopefully something that will work.

Because my personal focus this month is to achieve a 50 000 words written on my new WIP, my approach to the blog will be a bit different this month. I’ll still be reading, but I’m going to get a start of my Christmas reading list and have a bunch of Christmas themed novella’s to start with. This I’m particularly excited for because I always say I’m going to read a bunch of books in the lead up to Christmas but I never get to start them until it’s too late, and then I can’t fit them all in!

I’ve got a bunch of reviews already scheduled for the month, as well as some event wrap ups that I’ve been meaning to write/post and my usual Let’s Talk Books Friday feature will still be running as well.

What’s more to hold myself more accountable for NaNoWriMo, I’m going to be doing regular mini update posts on my word count etc. I’m hoping that by telling all you readers, and thus the universe itself, that I’ll hit every single mark and smash my way through the month. So keep you fingers crossed everyone. November is shaping up to be one hell of a month and I couldn’t be more excited to get it under way. Let’s do this..

Don’t forget to leave a comment below if you’re participating in NaNoWriMo this year, so that we can cheer each other on all the way to the finish line.

 

Leave a Reply

