Australian Women Writers Challenge 2017 #AWW2017

It’s that time of year again when I choose what reading challenges I want to commit to for 2017. This year I’m only signing up to the Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2017 (#AWW2017) in order to focus on my own reading,  the blog and my personal writing goals for 2017.

With all of that in mind, and given how well I went in 2016, this year I’ve decided to challenge my self to read 60 books written by Australian Women and review at least 50. That’s ten up on both counts from last years challenge. With any luck 2017 will see my well and truly beat these counts, but we will have to wait and see what the year holds yet.

Looking back at my 2016 challenge, there are a couple of areas in which I identified as areas to improve on. For example in 2016 I did not read a single non-fiction book by an Australian woman nor did I read a poetry book or any classics. This year I am aiming specifically to include at least one of each of the above and ideals some more books that have been published more than ten years ago.

Much like last year I will be doing monthly updates on the last day of every month so that I can track how well this challenge is progressing throughout the year.

 

aww2017-badge

 

Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2017 (AWW2017):

Read 60. Review: 50.

Read: 0/60

Review: 0/50

3 thoughts on “Australian Women Writers Challenge 2017 #AWW2017

    • Jess says:

      I’ve already broaden it significantly since joining up in 2013; in fact in some ways I’ve done a complete 360 in what I previously read. Those are the three areas that I’ve identified from last year that I want to experiment with this year and see what I can find. I’ve already got a great bunch of books lined up 2017 and am really looking forward to starting them now. Thanks for running the challenge again Elizabeth!

  1. Amy says:

    This is a great plan. I am also trying to broaden my reading, spread out my genres a bit, I stuck to two genres mainly last year (unintentionally) so I have a lot of places to go.

Leave a Reply

