Let’s Talk Books With Sara Garrett, Avid Romance Reader

letstalkbooks

This week’s superstar is none other than Sara Garrett, an avid romance reader who I met last year at Kell’s Bookmark Clique Readers Retreat in the beautiful Hunter Valley. If you ever want to know something about a book, or are looking for your next read, Sara is your go to girl.

 

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading Fearless by Nicole Edwards

What’s the last book you bought?

Don’t Speak by Katy Regnery

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I prefer reading electronically, just for the sake of convenience.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

A mess! Haha. I have one small bookshelf that is overflowing with books. I’m in desperate need of another one. I started with the best of intentions of keeping it organised. The top shelf was meant to be for my unsigned books, the middle shelf was going to be for my signed pretties and the bottom shelf was going to be for miscellaneous books. Well that failed. My signed pretties have taken over and are all over the place. Haha.

Like I said it’s all a mess!

How often do you read?

Every day and as often as I can.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

I love to have a balance of sweet and sexy. I love alphas who are romantic but still tough. My alpha would need to be in some type of uniform (police, firefighter, camo, etc.) and the heroine would need to be someone who has some back bone to her. I don’t like weak heroines. I like them to be tough but still have some softness to them.

How do you choose what to read next?

It depends. If I don’t have an ARC to read, then I typically go in the order I bought them. If I have an ARC due to arrive and it’s part of a series, I’ll go through and either read the books leading up to it or re-read the last one.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I’ll typically finish it and give it a shot. Very rarely have I given up on a book and didn’t finish it.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Exclusively Yours by Shannon Stacey. I absolutely adored this book and found myself laughing out loud in parts.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

I love reading because I can block out the rest of the world and escape into the world with the characters. I get to escape my problems and any drama and just get sucked into reading what the authors have created. I also find it extremely relaxing.

What book are you most looking forward to reading next?

I can’t wait to read a new book I discovered at the recent Books by the Bridge author event in Sydney – Inarticulate by Eden Summers.

Leave a Reply

