Let’s Talk Books With Tarran Jones, Author Of ‘All That Glitters’

Let's Talk Books

Tarran Jones, author of the short story ‘All That Glitters’ stopped by to chat about her books, bookshelves, writing and everything in between.

11015228_10153197897687577_636725356_nTarran Jones is from South Australia and is a bookseller with Collins Booksellers Edwardstown. Her first short story ‘All That Glitters’ has been published in the Twice Upon A Time myth and fairytale anthology that is due for release.

Her first novel is being published by Satalyte Publishers and is set to be released next year.

What are you currently reading?

The Last Dance’ by Fiona McIntosh. It is due in stores on the 23rd March.

What’s the last book you bought?

I actually can’t remember. I go through so many of them.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

In print. Digital books hurt my eyes and give me headaches.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

All my books are sorted by genre then sorted again by author’s surname. I couldn’t have it any other way, I am a bit OCD when it comes to bookshelves.

How often do you read?

I read every day on the train. I don’t know what it would be like not to read every day.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

Fantastic characters, action packed story and that energy a really good book has that draws you in and won’t let you go.

How do you choose what to read next?

Because I work at a bookstore (Collins Booksellers Edwardstown) the publisher’s reps usually give me books to read and review. I have a whole pile of TBR books and then there is the pile of books that are for personal reading.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I discard it. I don’t have a lot of time to spend on books that I don’t like because I can’t really read at home. I have a 3 year old daughter who likes my attention on her not in a book lol.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

That is a really hard question, I can’t just pick one. Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings, Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and The Ancient Future by Traci Harding would be my picks.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

I love that books require you to use your imagination. You get to put an aspect of yourself in every character you read about. You immerse yourself in situations and worlds that you normally wouldn’t get to go to. I personally think that every time you open a book there is a world created there and for each person that reads it, brings it something new.

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

The Neverending Story. That book and then the film changed my life when I was younger. I had always loved to read and write but that book influenced me to this day.

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

Write. Write and don’t stop writing. Even if it crap, keep writing and learn from each rejection. Hone your craft and accept criticism from trusted people (never family).

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

I am working on book two of my fantasy novel series. The first one will be out sometime next year. It is being published by Satalyte Publishing, so keep an eye out for it!

 To learn more about Tarran head on over to the following sites:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Collin’s Booksellers Edwardstore Facbook | Bearded Scribe Press |

To purchase a copy of the ‘Twice Upon A Time’ Anthology head on over too:

Collins Booksellers Edwardstown* | Collins Booksellers Edwarstown Facbook | Amazon | Bearded Scribe Press | Bearded Scribe Press Facebook |

* Collins Booksellers Edwardstown can pre-order one for anyone in Australia and post it out to them signed.

 

One thought on “Let’s Talk Books With Tarran Jones, Author Of ‘All That Glitters’

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.